Derek Bourgeois’ Concerto for Trombone,. Opus a Performer’s Guide and. Annotated Bibliography of His Solo and. Chamber Works for Trombone. The first movement of Derek Bourgeois’ Trombone Concerto is constructed Classically: the solo trombone immediately launches into the opening theme in F .

Author: Kajimi Shakalrajas
Country: Puerto Rico
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Education
Published (Last): 14 November 2013
Pages: 426
PDF File Size: 18.59 Mb
ePub File Size: 15.2 Mb
ISBN: 450-4-74235-590-1
Downloads: 40789
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Mizuru

Solo Trombone with Band of Players: Derek Bourgeois’ Trombone Concerto is a substantial twenty-minute piece in three movements, “Allegro,” “Adagio,” and “Presto.

Trombone Concerto Op. (piano reduction) – C. Alan Publications

The third movement, trommbone particular, was a great hit. These contrasting subjects give the composer ample opportunity to let loose his fertile imagination, whether expanding on the Baroque qualities of the opening material in a fugato section for woodwinds, or boldly stating the romantic second theme on brass leading to cascading sextuplets, or with the soloist presenting the first theme in augmentation against a ripple of semi-quavers.

After this development, there is virtually a formal recapitulations in the woodwinds and the soloist repeats the rerek theme in tonic F major. The movement closes with pianissimo chords – no great bravura here, but leading us in mood to the second trmobone which opens a tone lower in E-flat.


Here, the rich tone of the soloist is matched by three accompanying trombones – with the writing equaling the expressiveness of a cello quartet.

Trombone Concerto (orchestra)

Gradually, the rest of the low brass join as the solo trombone weaves a seamless, almost Wagnerian theme, extending phrases sequentially. This movement has two separate thoughts and a solo clarinet answers the trombone with a new theme accompanied only by three horns, euphonium, and pizzicato string bass.

Whilst most of the slow movement is contemplative, Bourgeois allows the band to unleash the full fortissimo passion implied in the second, clarinet theme, before the movement closes as it began – but this time only two trombones accompany the soloist, and all three are muted.

It is fun, to be thrown off lightly as we enjoy the semitone shifts with a wry smile.

Trombone Concerto (band) – C. Alan Publications

Towards the end of the movement is a cadenza which alludes to the thematic content of the first movement, but aurally the hard work has been done. For the soloist however, the music requires a virtuoso combination of slide derem tongue.


The world premiere was given by Christian Lindberg. We promise to never spam you, and just use your email address to identify you as a valid customer. This product hasn’t received any reviews yet.

Be the first to review this product! Concerto for Solo Trombone and Symphony Orchestra.

Vital Signs of Planet Earth: How do you rate this product? Write a headline for your review here: Write your review here: Enter the code below: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat, Mvt.